Bulletin of Dental Education

August 2011 Kudos

(Kudos) Permanent link   All Posts

Dr. Meyerowitz Earns Excellence in Research Award 

Dr. Cyril Meyerowitz, Director of Eastman Institute for Oral HealthDr. Cyril Meyerowitz, Director of Eastman Institute for Oral Health, was presented with the Foundations of Excellence in Research Award from the New York State Dental Foundation. The award is in recognition of Dr. Meyerowitz’s commitment to applying creative, science-based methods to foster greater understanding of and to improve overall oral health.

Professor and Chair of Dentistry since 1991, Dr. Meyerowitz has provided 20 years of leadership to Eastman Dental. After the merger with the University of Rochester Medical Center in 1998, he was instrumental in establishing one integrated entity: the Eastman Institute for Oral Health. Dr. Meyerowitz led Eastman Dental and URMC to become a national model in oral health graduate education, research, clinical care, and community service. Increased services throughout the community and a first-of-its-kind urgent care clinic have dramatically improved access to care for the underserved.

Dr. Meyerowitz is active in the dental profession regionally and nationally. He is Chair of the New York State Academic Dental Centers and recently served as Chair of the American Dental Association (ADA) Council on Dental Education and Licensure (CDEL). Other recent posts include serving on the Commission on Dental Accreditation and the ADEA Commission on Change and Innovation in Dental Education (ADEA CCI). Dr. Meyerowitz is a Fellow of the Academy of General Dentistry and the American College of Dentists.

Ms. Kimbrough-Walls Receives 2011 Irene Newman Award 

The American Dental Hygienists’ Association (ADHA) named Prof. Vickie J. Kimbrough-Walls, RDH, M.B.A., as the recipient of the Irene Newman Award, sponsored by Colgate-Palmolive Co. The award recognizes a current ADHA member who has been involved with the association for at least 15 years and has demonstrated outstanding achievement in advancing the art and science of dental hygiene.

Prof. Kimbrough-Walls is Program Director at Truckee Meadows Community College. She began her dental career in 1968 as a Red Cross volunteer at Nellis Air Force Base in Las Vegas, Nevada. She became a registered dental assistant and earned an associate’s of science degree in dental hygiene from Cherritos College. Later, she earned a master’s in business administration degree from University of Phoenix in Bakersfield, California. She is pursuing a doctoral degree in educational leadership from the University of Nevada, Reno.

Prof. Kimbrough-Walls is currently Secretary of the ADEA Council of Allied Dental Program Directors Administrative Board. She has also served as President of the Kern County Dental Hygiene Society, President of the California Dental Hygienists’ Association, and a Trustee of the Nevada Dental Hygienists’ Association.

Duggan ad 2013