Bulletin of Dental Education

February 2011 Kudos

(Kudos) Permanent link   All Posts

Dr. Nabil Bissada Receives AAP Educator Award

Dr. Nabil F. Bissada, Professor and Chair of the Department of Periodontics at Case Western Reserve University School of Dental Medicine, received the American Academy of Periodontology's (AAP) 2010 Outstanding Periodontal Educator Award. According to the organization, the award "recognizes an exemplary periodontal faculty member who is an inspiration to students whose career demonstrates excellence." The organization, said Dr. Bissada, "has shaped dental and periodontal residents around the world into caring, ethical practitioners."

Dr. Cyril Meyerowitz Earns Merit Award

Dr. Cyril Meyerowitz, Director of Eastman Institute for Oral Health, was presented the Award of Merit by the Seventh District Dental Society for his significant contributions and dedication to the members of the dental professions and to the community. The Seventh District Dental Society represents the interests of dentists in eight counties of New York state and advances public health by promoting the art and science of dental medicine.

Dr. Meyerowitz is active in the dental profession regionally and nationally, serving as Chair of the New York State Academic Dental Centers and a member of the ADEA Commission on Change and Innovation in Dental Education (ADEA CCI). He also recently served as Chair of the American Dental Association Council on Dental Education and Licensure (ADA CDEL) and on the Commission on Dental Accreditation (CODA). He is a Fellow of the Academy of General Dentistry and the American College of Dentists.

UIC Oral Health for Homeless Program Receives National Award

The University of Illinois at Chicago (UIC) College of Dentistry has received the Bud Tarrson Dental School Student Community Leadership Award for its work treating homeless patients at a student-operated oral health center in Chicago.

More than 75 UIC dental students volunteer their time and talents every other Saturday at Goldie's Place in downtown Chicago. The clinic has grown from a one-chair operation 14 years ago to a four-operatory dental suite with additional space for a laboratory and sterilization room.

Sponsored by the American Dental Association Foundation, the Bud Tarrson Dental School Student Community Leadership Award annually highlights dental student outreach to vulnerable communities.

The award recognizes one exemplary community service project organized or conducted by students in a predoctoral dental program accredited by the Commission on Dental Accreditation. It is named for Emanuel "Bud" Tarrson, the former Chief Executive of John O. Butler Co. and noted philanthropist who championed dental education.

Duggan ad 2013