Bulletin of Dental Education

University of Oklahoma COD Faculty Members Inducted Into American College of Dentists

 Permanent link   All Posts
Paul S. Tiwana, D.D.S., M.D., M.S., FACS

Two dentists from the University of Oklahoma College of Dentistry (OU COD)—Paul S. Tiwana, D.D.S., M.D., M.S., FACS, Division Head of the Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery Department, and Phoebe L. Vaughn, D.D.S., Director of the Advanced Education in General Dentistry Residency—were named Fellows in the American College of Dentists (ACD), the oldest major honorary organization for dentists.

ACD members have exemplified excellence through outstanding leadership and exceptional contribution to dentistry and society. The two, along with seven OU COD alumni, were honored at a convocation ceremony at the ACD annual meeting in San Francisco.

Only about 3.5% of dentists in the United States are chosen as Fellows in the American College of Dentists. Fellowship is bestowed only if the accomplishments of the nominee are truly outstanding and epitomize excellence.

Phoebe L. Vaughn, D.D.S.

Membership in the ACD is by invitation only and based on a proven, confidential, peer-review system that has remained intact since its founding. A Fellow’s credentials may be reflected in professional organizational involvement, dental education, dental research, dental journalism or other areas. Additionally, candidates must be members of the American Dental Association or an equivalent foreign organization, if applicable. There is also an ethical component to Fellowship, where the candidate must be of good moral character and have a reputation for ethical conduct and professional standing that is unquestioned.

Published on Dec. 11, 2019

Duggan ad 2013